I created this page on a count of the home page was getting a bit cluttered.  All of the old updates will be here.  I'll keep updates on the home page for a week and then they'll come to the update graveyard aka this page.

August 19th, 2012 --- Back from vacation, I needed to watch a movie...anything really.  Flipping through on demand, I happened upon "Real Steel" starring Hugh Jackman.  Despite what I thought about it before I actually watched it (I thought it was going to be awful), the movie was a pleasant surprise. 

 

Yes, it was filled with product placement.  Yes, it was extremely corny.  Yes, the melodrama was overdone.  And yes, it all kinda works.  As cheesy and hokey as it is, the fight scenes are really fun to watch and you can't help root for the robot Atom.  A review will be out soon but in summary, it is worth your time.  Grab a bowl of popcorn and enjoy.

 

Here's a trailer in case you aren't familiar with the film:

August 15th, 2012 --- I've been up in the boonies for the past few days so forgive my late updates.  I'm currently looking forward to "Paranorman" and "Lawless" and trying to avoid "The Expendables 2".  Good movies are becoming a rarity by the end of the summer and it's making it harder for me to decide what movie to waste my money on.


August 10th, 2012 --- I'm about to watch "Silent House" with my little brother and his friends and I am a little pumped.  The reason is because I know absolutely nothing about the movie and that's how I like it.  Trailers ruin movies and tend to show you all the good parts. 


August 9th, 2012 --- Hello world!!!  Movies have been a bit stale of late so I've been watching a lot of DVDs and older movies, trying to remember what it was like to watch a good movie.  Uknowingly, I stumbled upon "Detention".  It had Josh Hutcherson from "The Hunger Games" so it couldn't be that bad, right?  WRONG!!!  

 

Despite its one or two good scenes in its two hour duration, this film was like a bad acid trip except your not on acid and the movie is still horrible.  Here's a review of it if you care to hear me rant: Detention

 

July 30th, 2012 --- For all of you wondering if I was dead or not...well, I'm not.  I've just been getting over the awesomeness of Batman and writing the best review ever for it.  Yes...the best review ever for arguably the best movie of the year.  Enjoy :)

 

July 18th, 2012 --- Hello again.  So right now I am writing my review for "A Midnight in Paris" and simultaneously trying to quell my enthusiasm for Batman.  

 

On another note, I just watched "Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance" last night and let me tell you what...Nick Cage is STILL awful.  There was a time when this man had more than a shred of credibility in regards to his acting but lately has been jumping from one crappy movie to another to avoid bankruptcy.  How do you go from "Con-Air" and "Matchstick Men" to "The Bad Lieutenant: Port of Call - New Orleans"?  Oh...haven't seen it?  Do yourself a favor...don't.

 

July 17th, 2012 --- Na na na na na na na na na na na na na na na na BATMAN!!!!  BATMAN!!!!  Can you believe it's almost here?!?  I currently have plans to watch both Batman movies with my buddy before we see the new one.  We kinda like the Batman movies :P

 

Anyways, here is a trailer in case you live under a rock:

July 10th, 2012 --- This week is something of anightmare for me.  You see, I live in an area that plays few to none limited release movies.  As it so happens, almost every movie worth seeing this week is limited showing.  Sooner or later, I'll move somewhere where they actually play these movies.  On another note, the review for "The Amazing Spiderman" is up!!!

 

July 8th, 2012 --- I just got back from seeing "The Amazing Spiderman" and it was...well...amazing.  I really think this movie did a good job of setting up a good series by cutting through a lot of what bogged down the previous Spiderman series.

 

"Abraham Lincoln:Vampire Hunter" review is up too!!!

 

July 2nd, 2012 --- So my friend and I saw "Abe Lincoln: Vampire Hunter" last night and let me tell you something.  IT...WAS...AWFUL!!!  Truly one of the worst movies I have seen in a while, which is disappointing considering how much I was looking forward to it.  Review to follow.

 

 June 29th, 2012 --- Guess who just saw this adorable little scamp?  I saw "Ted" Friday morning and it was everything I had hoped it would be.  If you are having any doubts as to seeing it or not, just remember the last time you saw a teddy bear humping a checkout scanner at a grocery store.  Oh, you haven't seen that before?  Reason enough to see it right there.

June 27th, 2012 --- Long time, no updates.  Sorry guys...I've been away from the internet from quite some time.  Being up in the mountains doesn't help.  Anyways, I had a kickass weekend at the bike blessing.  I spent time with family which always seems to recharge my batteries.

 

As for movies, I watched "Brave" on Monday and the review is up.  I can't seem to find anywhere that's playing "Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter" after work though, but I am going to keep looking.

 

Blog is also updated.

 

June 21, 2012 --- Holy crap!!!  If you're a fan of throat-chopping and Liam Neeson, you'll be thrilled to know that "Taken 2" is happening!!!  I think it's slated for an October release.  I'll keep you posted on any new info for those of you who have a thing for excessive violence.

 

June 20th, 2012 --- Sorry guys...I've been a bit absent from the site.  I'm trying to come up with some new ideas for the site so stay tuned!!!

 

I have a bike blessing this weekend, so I'm going to have to see "Brave" and "Abe Lincoln: Vampire Hunter" Monday. 

 

June 18th, 2012 --- The review for "That's My Boy" is up.  It's worth your time if you're looking to kill some time.  It has enough laughs to make it worth your while.  Just don't take it seriously or you'll leave unhappy.

 

June 15th, 2012 --- A review of "Fright Night" is up.

 

June 13th, 2012 --- In an attempt to refine my writing skills, I am going to be doing reviews on older movies.  I think it'll give me a good chance to try a lot of different genres and different styles for reviewing them.  I am going to start with the remake of "Fright Night" with Colin Farrell.  These older reviews will have their own section so feel free to read them if you get some time.

 

June 11th, 2012 --- New blog post!!!

 

June 10th, 2012 --- The review of "Prometheus" is up.  Enjoy!!!

 

UPDATE: June 8th, 2012 --- So I just finished watching "Prometheus" and I don't really know what I think.  It offers an original story and captivating environments but ultimately leaves you with more questions than answers.  Overall, I would recommend it.  It is not a film for everyone, but it offers a refreshing two hours of cinema that is a welcome addition in a time where movies are often stale and unoriginal.  Well done Ridley Scott!!!

 

June 8th, 2012 --- Just finished watching "The Beaver" last night with Mel Gibson and, you guessed it, a beaver puppet.  I thought it was intriguing but much like a train wreck; I just couldn't look away.  The review for that will be up by the end of the weekend.  Also, PROMETHEUS!!!  Review probably by Monday as well.  That is all.

 

June 7th, 2012 --- Got the logo done!!!  What do you think?  I also forgot to put the reviews up when I said I did...my bad :P  They're up now.


June 6th, 2012 --- Finally, the website is up and running!!!  Currently, I have five reviews up.  My plan is to put a new review up every week, two if I am lucky.  I would love some productive feedback if anyone is willing to offer it.

 

Like us on Facebook!!!

Top 10 Box Office

Recent Reviews

"Tom Cruise may be in shape but his back isn't that strong.  Despite jaw-dropping visuals, the film just can't get past being extremely average.  Borrowing from other movies is flattering if you actually put it to good use but insulting when you use it, well, like this.  Go watch "Moon" instead."

News

Print Print | Sitemap
© Jonathan Pires